My Favourite Time Management Technique

My favourite time management technique is to know when I will have a WiFi connection and when I won’t.  Yes, there are still times and places when I can’t get WiFi.  For those time I plan to have work with me to do when I am unconnected.  You might think, “when does that ever happen”, more often than you think:

What do you do when there is no connection?

When I  arrive early at a client’s home

When I arrive early to pick up someone

When the person I am pickup arrives late

When the client is late

When the distance between appointments and returning to the office will cause me to waste time commuting  so I find a quiet location  work instead of wasting my time driving.

I will have a book along to read or mail to open or start on my e-mail that I downloaded before I left for the call.  Sometimes I am reviewing a speech I am presenting, signing holiday cards, planning my week/ month or getting in my exercise by going for a walk.  Using these small expected or unexpected amounts of time well will make you more productive.  I learned this technique by trial and error.  I found myself sitting around waiting with nothing to do when my children were involved in activities.  I quickly realized that I was wasting a lot of time and needed to plan my “spare time” as well as my work time to be able to get everything accomplished without using my family time or free time to get things completed.

Leave a Reply

